So last night was the first night I had ever made dinner all by myself. I made honey sesame chicken, rice and brownies for dessert. The recipe I’m gonna share is for the honey sesame chicken as the rice was plain ol’ normal rice and the brownies were a mix.

Now the recipe I used is for the crock pot and I can’t find the original place it came from but there’s one really similar HERE. I adapted it slightly. Here’s my adapted version.

Ingredients:
5 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
3/4 cup of honey
1/4 cup ketchup
3/4 cup soy sauce
1/2 cup diced onion
1 tablespoon minced garlic
4 teaspoons cornstarch dissolved into 6 tablespoons of water
Salt and Pepper
Sesame Seeds

The original recipe calls for a whole cup of honey, but as my grandma is diabetic, I cut back a bit on the honey at her suggestion. The original recipe also calls for 2 cloves of garlic minces and 4 tablespoons dehydrated onion but as I didn’t have cloves of garlic, I estimated and put 1 tablespoon of garlic in the sauce – which my grandma told me later on that my estimation was pretty much right on and for the onion, I think I accidentally read the recipe wrong or added the part from another recipe as the original calls for the 4 tablespoons dehydrated onion but I put down 1/2 cup diced onion and that’s what I added to the sauce. It worked fine for me and it tasted delicious.

Now for what to do…

Take the chicken, cut off the fat and then lightly salted and peppered both sides before cutting the chicken up into bite sized pieces or cubes. After you’ve done all the chicken, take a medium sized bowl to mix the sauce in.

Here’s a tip for adding the honey… using butter spray, spray the inside of the measuring cup first so when you go to pour the honey into the bowl, it’ll slide out of the cup with no trouble at all. After the honey, add in the ketchup, soy sauce, onion and garlic and mix.

DSCN2818

(This is why I said use a medium sized bowl. I used a small one and the mix was about ready to overflow. I had to mix very, VERY carefully. And I know it doesn’t look that yummy but I swear it tastes yummy!)

Pour the sauce over the chicken as evenly as you can. Place the lid over the chicken.

DSCN2819

(Dun Dun Dun)

Now for the cooking… I did mine at high and it took about 2 1/2 hours. The original recipe says that on low you can have it cook for 3-4 hours or on high for 1 1/2 hours to 2 1/2 hours.

Within the last 30 minutes of cooking, take 4 teaspoons of cornstarch dissolved in 6 tablespoons of water and add it to the mixture.

When it’s done, serve it with or over rice. Garnish with sesame seeds (which we forgot to do… ).

DSCN2820
(All of that? Yeah, it was gone pretty quick. Also the whole dish was gone by the next afternoon as I ate the rest of it for lunch. Delicious.)

Then have brownies for dessert or whatever you prefer with a big glass of milk. Or not…whatever.

Till next time!

3 thoughts on “

  1. Southern Kitchen Wonders says:

    I must admit I’m an avid Chinese food fan. I attempt almost all of the recipes I find for it. I’ve tried 100’s of honey sesame chicken and never found one I’ve admired. This one looks unique. I plan to definitely add this to my list to make! I plan on making and posting on my own blog, sometime next week probably, my famous Chinese ribs. I’m really excited to try this with my fried rice!

    • RogueArrow says:

      I hope you like it! Myself and my family found it to be yummy and up there with our stir fry sesame chicken recipe. Hope the results are good when you try it! 🙂

      • Southern Kitchen Wonders says:

        Me too! So excited! You’ll have to try my recipe for my Cantonese ribs…you’ll like it i’m sure!

Leave a comment